Angelo Mathews
Sri Lanka’s Angelo Matthews. (Photo by SCOTT HEPPELL/AFP/Getty Images)

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) finally announced a 22-member squad for the upcoming highly-anticipated two-match home Test series against England. The two teams will lock horns against each other in two Test matches that will be played from January 14 to January 18 and 22-26 January respectively in Galle International Stadium behind closed doors in a biosecure bubble to ensure the safety of the players.

The England cricket team was scheduled to play against Sri Lanka in a two-match Test series in March 2020. However, England had to return back home without playing a single game due to a sudden outbreak of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic in the island nation.

It is an important series for both the nations considering it will form a part of the ICC Test Championship and will play a major role in deciding whether Sri Lanka or England will reach the final of the marquee tournament. Joe Root’s side is 4th while Dimuth Karunaratne’s side is at the 7th position of the ICC WTC table.

Coming to the 22-member Sri Lanka squad for England series, off-spinner Ramesh Mendis got his maiden call while Dhananjaya de Silva, Kasun Rajitha, Santhush Gunathilake, and Dilshan Madushanka are dropped on the basis of their poor run in the Test series against South Africa, where the Lankan nation registered a whitewash by 2-0.

Angelo Matthews makes a comeback in Sri Lanka Test squad

Few notable inclusions in the Test squad are Nuwan Pradeep, Roshen Silva and Lakshan Sandakan. Veteran all-rounder Angelo Matthews also made his comeback in the National team after recovering from the hamstring injury he suffered during the 2020 edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL). Owing to his injury he had to miss the Sri Lanka tour of South Africa.

Matthews’ last outing in the international circuit came in the Test series against Zimbabwe where he registered his highest Test score, 200*. He will be looking forward to scoring lots of runs against England as the batsman is short of just 19 runs to achieve the remarkable feat of 6000 runs in the purest format of the game.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Oshada Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Embuldeniya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, Asitha Fernando, Roshen Silva, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Ramesh Mendis

Source: Cricket News – CricTracker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here